For LEO's duty weapon possibility?

Station 3

Forum Guru
May 21, 2010
Edinburg Texas
Ok well i was thinking do you guys think the FN HERSTAL 5.7x28mm pistol would be good as a duty weapon? I mean most criminals are getting smart now a days and carrying body armor and most of us carry the .40 as our primary duty weapon ammo which is what i also carry. I carry a Springfield XD Compact .40 and use standard issue Border Patrol Ammo that i get from my cousin which is a BP agent. Keep in mind that i am a Texas Peace Officer in a small town very close to the Mexican border and thats why im considering the 5.7x28mm pistol over my traditional pistol because of the threat of border violence and i think i need a little extra punch. Let me know what u all think i would love the advise from all the LEO's out there.

By the way this weapon will be bought on my own due to our PD not assigning us weapons. We use our own weapons and ammo.

My $.02..... NO.... Reasoning:

While the criminal factor doesn't give a crap where their bullets go, we have to be responsible for each one that we throw downrange. The carnage factor from that round I don't think is worth the risk of finding that one turd who managed to find a vest. That's why we practice body armor drills.... unless if you're in NY, then you're just screwed, since you're not supposed to "shoot to kill." :roll: :lol:

We worry about overpentration and use frangible rounds to counteract this. Not to mention, the 'media factor' of using this weapon as standard duty issue. Don't get me wrong, I'm all for superior firepower... in certain situations. But, I don't think it's needed 24/7.